A big day

Kids grow up…that’s what they are supposed to do…if you are very lucky. I have friends whose angels couldn’t stay. Seeing how hard the loss of a child hits I mostly feel privileged to watch my children grow. I say mostly because there are still days like today. Days when I would like to slow time a little. But maybe these days are another reminder to appreciate the little moments.

Today is big. Or should I say she is big, and getting bigger. The girl attends two schools. One a mainstream and one in the special setting. Today she graduates from primary at one school. Next year she will be in senior school. S E N I O R.  She is so excited about the ceremony today but, as you may be able to tell, I am having a little trouble getting my head around it. It is often the way.

On my way to school shortly I will try to embrace the change ahead with a fortifying coffee in hand…and maybe some rescue remedy. I am aiming low. My goal is to not ugly cry. A few tears that can be wiped in a lady-like manner with a lace hanky would be fine. I am hopeful I can simply smile and enjoy her fun. So hopeful that I am wearing mascara! But those who know me well would suggest I grab a box of tissues and stop kidding myself!

Anyway….back to the kid. She is a delight. She is sweet and funny. She is so very smart. She is forgiving and understanding. She has a great sense of adventure. So for all of these qualities and more she will rock it today. And I shall be there to cheer her on tissues in hand. Go get ’em kid…big school and more adventures await!

2 thoughts on “A big day

  1. I can just imagine her proud and beaming face – and the proud and streaming face of her wonderful mum! It’s time for the senior school to enjoy her sense of humour, kindness and generosity, good grace and sharp mind! Go sock it to them darling girl!!

Leave a Reply

