Heavy Stuff

Holidays are fun, right? Well they are supposed to be. I enjoy spending time with my children. Really. It’s just…the stuff. That which still needs to be done (These people need food. Every. Single. Day. And the washing. Don’t get me started.). And that which can’t easily be done. That is what is messing with my head today.

Last week the girl was pretty sick but we did manage a couple of afternoon outings once her coughing had settled. I have tried to make fun and take the focus away from a fortnight almost sans help. With success, I think. The issue seems to be that I haven’t learnt from my mistakes. I continue to look at Facebook.

Happy snaps from all over the world greet me daily. Which is great for the snappers. For me, today, it feels heavy. The weight of the stuff we can’t easily do as a family is making me sad. It may sound ridiculous considering we adventured with another wheelchair wielding family on the weekend. How many wheelies can say they bumped along track in a four wheel drive looking for snow?

We have good times. Fun. Joyous times. We push the boundaries of expectations for this special kid. Even then I need to consider phone range and charging equipment and measuring meds and timing feeds and temperature management…you get the picture. {{sigh}} Tomorrow my big girl wants to see a movie and have coffee. So I shall go now, sleep off the heaviness and wake to a smiling girl. Tomorrow I will be ready to enjoy the stuff we can do.

Leave a Reply

